Princeton Area Community Foundation adds four new board members

Four new members have been appointed to the Princeton Area Community Foundation Board of Trustees.

Steve Downs, Kathryn Foster, Scot Pannepacker, and Atiya Weiss will serve three-year terms on the board.

“The governance committee is honored to have recruited four individuals who will add great value and perspective to our board work. Each is a respected leader in their various fields, and each brings a deep commitment to advancing the mission of the Community Foundation.” said Jamie Kyte Sapoch, Community Foundation trustee.

Sonia Delgado is now the chair of the board. Her predecessor, Anthony Cimino, will now serve as immediate past chair. Trustees also voted to name Jeanne Besser as secretary and Michelle Everman as treasurer.

William Burks retired from the board after almost 30 years of service. He was named trustee emeritus and will continue to volunteer on committees.

“Bill’s impact on the Community Foundation has touched all of us,” Sapoch said. “No one has had more of an impact on this Foundation than Bill Burks because he always made this work his first priority.”

William Harla, Andrew Lieu, and Calvin Thomas completed their terms of service on the board.

About the new board members

Steve Downs lives in Princeton. He is the co-founder of Building H, a community of entrepreneurs, investors, designers, engineers, and researchers working to build health into everyday life. He is also an adjunct faculty member at New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts. Downs previously served as chief technology and strategy officer at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. During his tenure there, he also held the roles of chief technology and information officer, assistant vice president of the health group, and founding leader of the foundation’s innovation portfolio. He also previously served as director of the Technology Opportunities Program, a U.S. Department of Commerce, National Telecommunications and Information Administration initiative, and as a research fellow of the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Kathryn Foster lives in Pennington. She has been the president of the College of New Jersey since 2018. She also is a board member of the New Jersey Chamber of Commerce, serves on the President’s Leadership Council for the national All In Campus Democracy Challenge, and is a member of the NCAA Division III Presidents Council. She previously served as the President of the University of Maine at Farmington, and as a visiting fellow at the Brookings Institution and the Taubman Center for State and Local Government at Harvard University. From 1993 until 2012, Foster worked at the University at Buffalo.

Scot Pannepacker lives in Hopewell Borough. He joined Lear & Pannepacker in 1988. He is a certified public accountant who is accredited in business valuations and certified in financial forensics. He has extensive experience in areas including gifts, trusts, and personal financial planning, including charitable strategies for estate planning. He is also a Member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, New Jersey Society of Certified Public Accountants, and the Mercer County Estate Planning Council. He serves as a member of the boards of trustees and treasurer of the Friends of Hopewell Quarry, Mary G. Roebling Foundation, and the Mary G. Roebling Music Foundation. Pannepacker is the former board president and treasurer of Preservation New Jersey, a former trustee and treasurer of The Watershed Institute, and a former trustee of the Historical Society of Princeton.

Atiya Weiss lives in Princeton and is the executive director of the Burke Foundation, which invests in promising programs and policies that focus on healthy pregnancies and births, healthy parent-child relationships, and high-quality early learning and care. The Burke Foundation has also partnered with the Community Foundation to award Community Impact Grants/The Burke Foundation Legacy Grants. Weiss also serves on the Community Foundation’s Committee on Impact, and its COVID-19 Relief & Recovery Fund grants evaluation team. Before joining the Burke Foundation, she served as executive director of JP Morgan’s Philanthropy Center, where she advised charitable trusts and family foundations, and worked with the Gates Foundation to create the Global Health Investment Fund. She previously managed a global health grantmaking portfolio at the Pfizer Foundation, where she also led flagship programs, including Pfizer Global Health Fellows and Mobilize Against Malaria. She is also a Trustee of the Council of New Jersey Grantmakers and an Ascend Fellow at the Aspen Institute.