President Obama Issues Presidential Disaster Declaration

President Obama has issued a Presidential Disaster Declaration for New Jersey due to damage caused by Hurricane Irene.

The President’s action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Bergen, Essex, Morris, Passaic and Somerset counties. Federal funding will also be available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged in the Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland and Salem counties.

Damage surveys are still continuing in other areas of the state and additional counties may be designated for assistance after assessments are fully completed.