Tornado watch in effect until 6 p.m. Monday

The National Weather Service in Mt. Holly has issued a tornado watch until 6 p.m. for 16 of the state’s 21 counties. The tornado watch from the Mt. Holly bureau is in effect for Mercer, Burlington, Hunterdon, Somerset, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, Atlantic, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Morris, Salem, Sussex and Warren counties.

A tornado watch means be tornadoes are possible in and near the watch area. Review and discuss your emergency plans and check supplies and your safe room. Be ready to act quickly if a warning is issued or you suspect a tornado is approaching.