NJ governor expands COVID-19 quarantine travel advisory to 31 states

People who travel to New Jersey from states with significant community spread of COVID-19 should quarantine for a 14-day period. Gov. Phil Murphy expanded the list of those states on Tuesday, adding 10 states to the list and removing one state to bring the total to 31 states.

The updated advisory includes Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Virginia, and Washington. Minnesota has been removed from the list.

The travel advisory applies to anyone arriving from a state with a positive COVID-19 test rate higher than 10 positives per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average. As of Tuesday, July 21, 31 states meet the criteria.

The states are: Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin.  

“It is critically important that all New Jerseyans remain committed to beating COVID-19 by remaining vigilant and continuing our collective efforts to reduce new cases and the rate of transmission throughout the state,” Murphy said. “In order to prevent additional outbreaks across New Jersey and continue with our responsible restart and recovery process, I strongly encourage all individuals arriving from these hotspot states to proactively get a COVID-19 test and self-quarantine.”  

Travelers and residents who are returning from impacted states should self-quarantine at their home, a hotel, or other temporary lodging. They should only leave to seek medical care or to obtain food and other essential items.

The list of states is being updated on a rolling basis and is accessible on the state’s COVID-19 website.