Princeton Mayor Mark Freda selected to participate in the inaugural national institute focused on pedestrian safety

Princeton Mayor Freda and the Municipality of Princeton have been selected from a pool of national candidates to join the inaugural cohort of the Mayors Institute on Pedestrian Safety.

Freda is one of nine mayors from around the country who were selected by the Mayors Innovation Project based on their commitment to and vision for pedestrian safety in their communities. 

Mayor Mark Freda

Participating mayors will have the opportunity to share their own successes nationally while receiving training and resources from top experts in the field to make safety improvements on their most dangerous streets. They will also receive support to develop implementation plans for longer-term, systemic changes. The program is a collaboration between the Mayors Innovation Project, AARP, and Smart Growth America.

“Across the country, mayors are working to save lives and find solutions that make their streets safer for all users. This work will support local efforts and create replicable models for cities around the country struggling with these common challenges,” said Katya Spear, managing director of the Mayors Innovation Project. “We are so grateful to this group of mayors for showing leadership on this issue.”

The United States is facing a record number of pedestrian fatalities. Estimates from the Governors Highway Safety Association show that 7,485 pedestrians were struck and killed in 2021, the highest number in 40 years and one of the biggest single-year jumps in decades. These deaths and serious injuries disproportionately impact Black and brown communities, lower-income neighborhoods, and older adults.

Over the next six months, cohort members will meet virtually with national experts and each other to share experiences and identify solutions to their pedestrian safety challenges.

In addition to Freda, the national cohort includes: 

  • Mayor John BautersEmeryville, CA
  • Mayor Indya KincannonKnoxville, TN
  • Mayor Danene SoraceLancaster, PA
  • Mayor Satya Rhodes-ConwayMadison, WI
  • Mayor Cavalier JohnsonMilwaukee, WI
  • Mayor Malik EvansRochester, NY
  • Mayor Tishaura JonesSt. Louis, MO
  • Mayor Caroline SimmonsStamford, CT