Princeton primary election numbers and voter turnout

Only 3,629 people voted in the Democratic and Republican primaries yesterday in Princeton, according to unofficial numbers from the municipal clerk’s office. The municipality has 19,193 registered voters. Voter turnout was 18.9 percent in Princeton and 13.66 percent in Mercer County in spite a greater interest in politics since the November general election and a field of several candidates in the gubernatorial primary races.

Former Goldman Sachs executive Phil Murphy, who spent more than $20 million and donated large sums of money to county parties across the state before securing their endorsements, won the Democratic primary for governor. In Princeton, where he was endorsed by the municipal chair, he received 1,200 votes. State Assemblyman John Wisniewski, who won the Princeton Community Democratic Organization endorsement, was right behind him with 1,142 votes. Jim Johnson received 870 votes, Ray Lesniak received 77 votes, William Brennan received 42 votes, and Mark Zinna received 10 votes. The unofficial tallies include absentee ballots, but not provisional ballots.

The Democratic primary for Princeton Council, in past years a lively contested race, was uncontested and there are no Republican or independent candidates seeking the two seats available on the council. David Cohen received 2,634 votes and Leticia Fraga received 2,614 votes

Other Democratic primary results:

State Senate (uncontested) – Laurie Poppe, 2,628 votes

State Assembly (uncontested) – Andrew Zwicker, 2,795 votes and Roy Freiman 2,543 votes

Sheriff (uncontested) – Jack Kemler, 2,624 votes

Freeholders (uncontested) – Lucy Walter, 2,622 votes and John Cimino, 2,537 votes

Democratic State Committee (uncontested) – Gilbert Lugossy 2,482 votes, Kelly Ganges 2,535 votes, Craig Garcia 2,547 votes. Mary Corrigan 2,576 votes, Janice Mironov 2,488 votes, Ebony Witherspoon 2,544 votes.

In the Republican primary for governor, Assemblyman Jack Ciattarelli, who represents the district Princeton is in, received 180 votes. Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno, who won the primary, received 88 votes in Princeton. Hirsh Singh and Steve Rogers each received 22 votes, and Joe Rullo received 19 votes.

Other Republican primary results:

State Senate (uncontested) – Kip Bateman, 261 votes

State Assembly  (uncontested)- Donna Simon, 252 votes and Mark Caliguire, 257 votes

Sheriff (uncontested) – Charles Farina, 255 votes

Freeholders (uncontested) – Jeff Hewitson, 252 votes and Michele Noone, 249 votes

Republican State Committee (uncontested) – John Rafferty, 258 votes and Christine Bator, 257 votes

One Comment

Comments are closed.