More states added to NJ quarantine advisory

Gov. Phil Murphy Tuesday added two states to the New Jersey quarantine advisory. People traveling to New Jersey from the 35 states and territories determined to be experiencing significant community spread of COVID-19 are being asked quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of the last contact within the identified state or territory. The updated advisory includes Alaska and Delaware.

The travel advisory applies to anyone arriving from a state or territory with a positive test rate higher than 10 positives per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average. As of Tuesday, Aug. 18, the following states and territories meet the criteria: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, Nevada, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Virgin Islands, and Wisconsin.  

“We cannot allow the tremendous progress we’ve made on our road back to serve as an excuse to let our guard down,” Murphy said. “It remains critically important for anyone arriving in New Jersey from these 35 states and territories to get tested for COVID-19 and self-quarantine for 14 days.”  

Travelers and residents who are returning from the 35 states and territories should self-quarantine at home, in a hotel, or another temporary lodging place. They should leave only to seek medical care or to obtain food and other essential items.

One Comment

  1. NJ has the highest COVID-19 deaths per 100,000 people in the country. Once again Governor Murphy has it arse-backwards.

Comments are closed.