Severe thunderstorm watch in effect for Princeton region until 11 p.m. Sunday

A severe thunderstorm watch is in effect for 15 counties in New Jersey until 11 p.m. Sunday.

The following New Jersey counties are included in the watch, according to the National Weather Service in Mount Holly: Mercer, Burlington, Hunterdon, Middlesex, Monmouth, Atlantic, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Morris, Ocean, Salem, Sussex, and Warren.

A line of heavy showers and some embedded thunderstorms are racing across the region from west to east. There is the potential for damaging wind gusts of up to 60 miles per hour. Some damage to trees and power lines is possible, which could result in power outages. Lightning is also possible.